Ratings and reviews

Car insurance is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 490.
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_64, tr_426
  • loc_en_US, sid_Auto, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_pemco
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and customer service I am an Oregonian and my rates went up significantly for the renewal due to the amount of claims filed by others (many from the "Snowpocalypse" - cars were abandoned on freeways, numerous crashes, etc.). However, I called and spent a long time discussing ways to reduce the increase, and luckily my new credit score made a significant improvement (also modified coverage a bit). It is still an increase over last year but not nearly as much, thankfully. Of course, my friends indicate that other companies have increased their rates as well (though they had no claims the prior year)...it sucks but not really a big surprise; b/c the insurance company needs to stay solvent so that they can pay the (hopefully legitimate) future claims. Also, I work in the insurance industry at another company, yet even with my "employee discount", Pemco offered far more affordable rates and better coverage for certain options, like towing. Plus, honestly, the radio commercials make me LOL. [I find other companies' commercials to be rather annoying/lame - of course some more so than others.] I really like Pemco's sense of humor, I find their website to be pretty user-friendly, the customer service every time I have called thus far has been very helpful and pleasant, and I really like the fact that my money is going to a NW company = back into the local economy.
Date published: 2017-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't insure through Pemco I have been a customer of Pemco for a couple years. I am shocked at the recent increase. My insurance jumped from 104 per month to 160. I did not receive notification of the increase until the payment was taken out of my account and I checked my account online. I have no speeding tickets, other tickets or at fault accidents. Sure seems ridiculous that my insurance would jump over $50.00 for an annual increase.
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Response Time We purchase a vehicle and I was able to go online quickly make the adjustments needed to change our auto insurance. I was having a small problem and was able to email my information via the online system and within hours we had the new insurance set up for our car. Thank you for your awesome response time!!
Date published: 2017-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Keep away from PEMCO - From long time customer !!! I have been a customer for PEMCO for 10yrs for multiple homes and cars, and then I was in an accident 15 months ago and some minor 2, 0-10 miles speeding violations over the last 3 years; and their underwriting came back to me stating that they would like to discontinue insuring me, even when they renewed my policy 15 months ago, and I did not have any adverse incidence since the last 12+ months or so. Since they had already renewed my insurance with a higher premium and 1 yr down the line, the letter was a very rude surprise, and reflects the increasingly typical greed of such insurance companies! For a while I had though PEMCO was different, but not so for sure!
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from have been a member since the age of 16 am now 70.When I got married my husband also got on Pemco. I would not go any place out.
Date published: 2017-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wish it was better I've been a Pemco member my entire driving life. I love that they're a local company and I was happy to pay a little more since they're local and (I thought) less terrible than the big companies. I will say that when I filed a claim when my car was damaged by an attempted break in they were great. No problems. Covered everything they should. It was only when I was hit by another driver and had a more serious claim that it all fell apart. First no one gave me any help or advice on what to do after the accident. I was really freaked out since I'd never been in an accident then the son of the person who hit me threatened me at the accident site. I literally had to Google "What to do after a car hits you". Fortunately I called 911 and filed a police report immediately after the accident. Then I had to wait days for an adjuster to be assigned since it was the weekend. When someone finally got back to me they told me that even though the accident wasn't my fault since the other driver was claiming it wasn't her fault either (no witnesses unfortunately and I didn't know everyone should have a Dashcam back then) I would have to pay the $1000 deductible if I wanted my car repaired. He assured me that once everything was cleared up I'd get my money and this was all routine. I should have realized there was a problem at this point but really I thought Pemco was one of the good guys and they were on my side. When the other driver's insurance company rejected my claim I had to call the adjuster to find out what to do. He claimed there'd be an arbitration and Pemco would be getting the money and once they did they'd reimburse me for the deductible I had to pay. Again he assured me it was very routine and nothing to be concerned about. I was in tears over this whole stressful process and reminded him that I'd filed a police report (the other driver fled before police arrived) and indicated that anything I could add to support my case I'd be willing to provide for the court. I asked how long it would take and was told 6-8 weeks. Never heard anything further about the case. Never received money. Months later when I decided to track it all down I found the adjuster couldn't get the police report (turns out it had gotten lost at the police department) didn't bother to tell me there was an issue getting it and just went to court without it where obviously since it was one person against another the judge couldn't make a decision either way. So I had to contact the police, spent days tracking down the report and then send it back to the adjuster to go back to court again. Never heard anything further about the case. Never received any money. I should never have trusted anything this company said or recommended. Unfortunately I fell for their 'friendly, local business' ploy and let them take advantage of me when I was freaked out and vulnerable. Of course now that I've had a claim I have to wait years before I can get insurance with anyone else without getting penalized for it (even though it wasn't my fault) but once that time is up I'll be leaving Pemco. Don't make the same mistake I did.
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst customer service ever This is a shoutout to all using Pemco for auto insurance. Don't use them. They rip you off and give you terrible service for the money. I got in a car wreck last year and got blamed when I was not at fault. Then when I cancelled my policy yesterday my bank account still got charged and they won't refund my money. Have a nice day
Date published: 2017-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Avoid Without incident, my rate jumped about 50% for the next year. I was made aware of this in the form of a standard auto-renewal notification and I contacted Pemco the same day, recalling that this happened the prior year and they were able to do a credit check to bring my rate back down. However this time I was told that the credit check for this renewal could not be applied until the following year because it had to be done at least 30 days before the "renewal process" started, which was a couple of days before I got the notice. In addition, according to the two I spoke with, they can only do that credit check once a year due to state regulations, which I totally believe, however that year for the credit check they did for me last time would have expired about a week after that 30 day deadline Pemco imposes on applying it to your auto-renewal for the same year, meaning that there was no overlap, effectively forcing me into this higher rate for a year. I cancelled all my renewal policies on the spot. My patronage is reliant on a group's ability to work within the parameters (in this case, a regulation) with minimal impact on cost to me, instead they transparently and intentionally misused this parameter as an excuse to try and force me to pay a higher rate. I'll throw my money away elsewhere and I encourage you to do the same.
Date published: 2017-05-27
  • y_2017, m_6, d_23, h_11
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_64, tr_426
  • loc_en_US, sid_Auto, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_pemco
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Gathering reviews

loading