Ratings and reviews

Car insurance is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 592.
  • y_2018, m_5, d_27, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_64, tr_528
  • loc_en_US, sid_Auto, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_pemco
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 32ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast and easy I’ve now totaled three cars while insured by PEMCO :(( good news is they are quick to settle and they are very fair with how they value the car! Sometimes the reps aren’t too hospitable but my most recent adjuster was nothing but helpful!
Date published: 2018-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from insured drive hit us and we are responsible WORST experience ever!!! I would never recommend this insurance company and if you are ever in an accident with one of their insured drivers pay your own deductible and save yourself the trouble! The first guy we talked to was great very nice and was right on it for our rental! The other people (adjuster). Was horrible never returned calls and twisted the words of the dealership who did the work on our van. After our van sat in the drive way for 2 weeks there was a huge puddle of oil , the body work was done 2 x as the first time the didn't do the repairs correctly . Then we elected to take it to the dodge dealership were they had conversation back and forth yet pepmco refuses to pay for the repair.::: point is it's months later and my van is fixed but yet in stuck woth part of the bill. ..... NOT ok
Date published: 2018-04-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pemco facilitates fraudulent insurance claims? I touched bumpers with someone at a stoplight in Fremont in 2015, shared insurance details, no damage to either vehicle (photographic evidence provided). Nearly 3 years later I find out that the other party filed an $86K personal injury claim against me, without reviewing the case Pemco paid out $10K in "chiropractic services" to the claimants actual employer (she is a chiropractic therapist apparently) and a further $6K in "personal damages" - all for a zero damage incident. According to the claims dept manager, in hindsight someone should have seen the "obvious red flags" of 1. zero damage 2. $86K claim 3. claimed for services provided by the claimants actual employer and not approved the payment. Also maybe, just maybe, someone at Pemco could have told me at some point that a claim had been filed. My conclusion? Either Pemco is knowingly facilitating insurance fraud against its own customers or is oblivious to the point of negligence indicating failure at a corporate level of their fiduciary duty to customers.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rate increase My family and i have been with pemco for 42 years. My mom was a teacher. They are now charging me $double a month for car insurance. No accidents no tickets and i have excellent credit. I use to pay less than half . I Will be moving my home and auto policy to another company. Its sad because pemco's rates were untouchable for safe drivers. Now they're horrible? What happened? Got a quote from another company. Half the price
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wouldn’t insure a new home over exterior paint! Wouldn’t insure a second home. I am buying a home for my mother in law and was denied coverage due to exterior paint conditions. I have my home and cars with pemco already, so I had to move everything over to State Farm to get multipolicy discount and who was willing to cover it. I almost lost my loan over pemco not covering a home with some old paint seen in only a terrible Zillow ad picture. 15 years of costumer with no claims gone. Good ridence.
Date published: 2018-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Insurance Company This is the most terrible is insurance company ever they do not disclose any true information and in order to get renters insurance they based qualifications on your past history not passed credit and they go back more than 13 years behind $300 in renters insurance this is the worst company ever I advise people not to get insurance here because they don't rate or base any insurance on what you need they base the quotes on your history in life if you have any criminal history you will not get insurance from this company it doesn't matter how old your criminal history would be and I would not recommend this insurance company to anyone
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved us from totally being ripped off After years of being with another insurance company that was bought out we shopped around and were horrified at the premiums we had been paying vs what we were quoted by PEMCO. We have had excellent customer service and I enjoy the monthly news letters Thank you!
Date published: 2018-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frustrated I've been with Pemco for 20+ years....I've always had very helpful people. However, recently, I've only encountered rude, snippy, sarcastic people on the phone. I even asked to speak to a manager and was told he "could put in a request" for me. I never had anyone call me. It's been two weeks. The prices seem fair, but I'm still fuming about the attitudes of the customer service people.Makes me want to leave even if i have to pay more with Farmers.
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Member for over 30 years...$110 was worth it?
Date published: 2018-03-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE IN HISTORY. If Pemco is the lowest quote you can get, go with the most economical choice. My rates increased by $800 from last year and when I called to get assistance I was encouraged by them to shop around. I surely will take that advice. I'm DONE with PEMCO
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from rate inicrease I am amazed and dismayed to note that my auto insurance went from $677 to $1044 in one year. I am a retired teacher with zero COLA benefits and $400 is A LOT---property taxes went up $800 as well. I understand this is a new schedule---but it is highway robbery,
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Been with pemco for over 30 years, now switching Our parents and now us have been with pemco over 30 years! They took double payment out of account last month because apparently that’s what they do at the end of a years contract, then they told us we wouldn’t be charged in March because payed doubled in February! Then last night they took out another payment on a Friday, now I have no money to pay for groceries or gas to get my kid places this weekend because they took out money I needed! Awful customer service. Leaving as soon as I can call someone. STAY AWAY.
Date published: 2018-03-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Premium increased by 75% I was paying $800+ and now I'm paying $1400+ after switching to a new car and add collision and compensative coverage. Does that sound right to anybody?
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long-time fan PEMCO has insured our cars for 47 years. Over that time, we have probably made eight claims, including a couple of replaced windshields. Although I haven’t made a claim recently, in the past I found them to be professional, responsive, and fair. I have never had to hassle over coverage. I will continue using PEMCO until I can no longer drive.
Date published: 2018-03-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from After 28 years it's time to go... I've been a long time Pemco customer for about 28 years and have watched our auto and Home premiums rise 10% - 15% each of the last five to six years. Last year our Home rate increased over 30% and this year our auto rate increased 40%. I am not kidding. When I called customer service to inquire about the increase, I was told Pemco had it's biggest rate increases ever. Even with our good driving records we have an increase. Then a week later a revised bill came revising my increase to 20%. No one from Pemco called or explained why there was a change. These last couple of years have been very disappointing dealing with Pemco's constant increases in premium for those of us with good driving and claim experience. I used to recommend Pemco to family and friends, but that will no longer be the case. I spent the last two weeks getting quotes from other insurance companies and yesterday I signed with another company. Next week I will cancel my policies with Pemco. It will hurt to not be part of Pemco, but it hurts even more to find several other companies who are just as service minded, but also with rates of $545 (20%) less a year. I don't why Pemco choose to move from a customer model to a high premium model, but I won't be part of trading away the customer relationship. It's time to go...
Date published: 2018-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the online app! I bought a new vehicle over the weekend and was able to update my policy in less than 2 minutes, at 10:00 at night on a Sunday. LOVE it!
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 48% increase in my homeowners policy My home owners insurance was raised by 48% after the first year with no claims or changes. They only insure in Oregon and Washington so no huge claimes for disasters other companys have had to pay out on so can only assume its to increase profit. When I called was given the same song-and-dance I have read in other reviews. I will no longer recommend this company and will be shopping for a replacement.
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So long Poor customer service and high prices. We are trying to stay local but when your insurance jumps and friends tell you that their experience was poor, then you have to ask yourself why stay. Going to USAA.
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cant trust what they sell you in the beggining Was EXTREMELY excited to switch, did a ton of research and long conversations with them (which they were happy to have) and switched ALL my policies over to them (auto,rv,home) and then about a month after i called to add EXTRA coverage to my custom vehicle (the fact that they offered this type of coverage was one of my main deciding factors to switch!) And by the end of the call instead of them adding my extra coverage they informed me the not only couldn't but because of some of my upgrades they should of never insured me and was sending a email to underwriting to basically "taddle" on me and i would have to wait for a email to let me know. Got email and calls demanding i take pics and send to them, specs etc etc... Ill point out now that before i switched over YES i told the agent it was lifted and custom and I'd be adding the extra coverage soon once i knew how much i needed... Not to mention that i was referred to them BY my 4x4 diesel group and over a dozen of them have bigger and more expensive rigs with this added coverage... My vehicle is a ford diesel with only 6" lift which is the #1 sold in the nation for these! Nothing super crazy big or Special... Anyway i just got a email today saying not only will they not add the extra coverage but they arw going to cancel this vehicle at end of its term... All this after i lost all my "time" discounts from my old insurance which causes even more issues.... Ill be posting this on ALL my groups so everyone that has 4x4's can switch there policies to new company too if they choose, better then getting a big bad surprise if a accident happens! Honestly really had high hopes for them and this is so dissapointing
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Almost DOUBLED My Monthly Payment I am dumping Pemco. I have been a loyal customer and safe driver with no accidents up until last November when I hit black ice in a snow storm on Snoqualmie Pass. I tapped an old Explorer in the lane next to me but this could have been so much worse. My damage was less than $1000 so why would Pemco almost double my monthly rate? They are not forgiving and there are so many more companies out there who are, so why stay with them? I am very disappointed with them. Bye bye Pemco. I am switching to Amica.
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jennifer is an awesome agent One of the stresses of purchasing your first home is finding home owners insurance. Jennifer guided me through everything and was super helpful. Fast forward to today, she's sold me on staying with PEMCO when purchasing our second home. Saved me a ton of money on auto by switching from Geico. I've had nothing but a great experience with this company. They are a lot like me, a little different!
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great customer service for policy changes Great website, easy to navigate, lots of good options and straightforward presentation. Folks on phone are super nice and helpful. Can't speak to claims as I haven't had any but they are so far great and PNW centric ! Better rates than MetroMile too - I just tried to compare and it was significantly less at PEMCO.
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Freeway accident This incident was scary and once we contacted Pemco truly we were calmed immediately by their quick action efforts. They simply took care of us and all damages.
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pathetic Road Side Service I called Road side because my car could not start, I got the text message that someone will be there in 65 minutes. no one came even after 1:15 minutes, no one picked the phone or informed as well. When I called, customer care, I guess name was Shelly, she told me that they did not have instrument, I wonder if no one is coming, why no one bothers to inform? I am waiting here like stupid and they are informing the same when I called them after getting frustrated by their ETA! Also earlier you guys are telling me that they can jump start my battery and can charge as well, later on Shelly telling me they can not charge, just jump start, she apologizes for the sake of formality but does not try to understand all the pain of waiting and frustration! I am just few days old customer and extremely discouraging experience I had with my first ever call. you guys seriously need improvements!!!!!
Date published: 2018-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Website does allow removal of sold vehicle I have tried several times to remove a sold vehicle from our coverage. The website does not complete the transaction and insteads asks me non-relevant questions about other vehicles on the policy. Unacceptable.
Date published: 2018-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Increased rates. 117 to 178! So dissapointed. Have been with PEMCO for 14 years. Purchased a new car 2 years ago. Rates jumped for 117-178. So dissapointed. Found the exact same coverage for 1/3 of the price.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not impressed with PEMCO I was in an accident with a person insured through PEMCO. I was not the one at fault. My vehicle needed repair, which meant I needed a rental car. Instead of putting me in a vehicle equal in size and comfort, PEMCO assigned me the most compact car possible. When I inquired about this, the representative told me, "We are only obligated to provide reasonable transportation..." Wait a minute, I was the one inconvenienced by this whole process, and PEMCO is only "obligated to provide reasonable transportation. " In my opinion, that's not the best customer service approach. I will not be considering PEMCO insurance any time soon.
Date published: 2018-02-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cant give them half a star. My car was totalled by Pemco bc I was hit by their client. Pemco was not helpful nor friendly. I was not compensated in any way. I still have car payments due and no car. I attempted to discuss it with them and they were rude and said, "We did our part, we're done". Said they didnt care if I went after their client. I've been sharing my experience with everyone I come across. Do not select Pemco. They will not support you in any way!
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Outrageous price increase I just looked at my policy renewal and my rates have increased by 29.4%. Just shocking! I called PEMCO to ask why such a large increase, as nothing on my policy has changed and no claims of been made. I was told that the increase was due to inflation. Inflation definitely has not increased by almost 30%. I am feeling ripped off.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Crazy Bad Notified you of son's death in August. His email account still gets notices of overdue payment for insurance every month. Ridiculous for a company your size to not be able to handle this.
Date published: 2018-01-23
  • y_2018, m_5, d_27, h_9
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_64, tr_528
  • loc_en_US, sid_Auto, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_pemco
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 2ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Gathering reviews

loading