Our Northwest

Salem lawmakers ponder $2,000 texting fine

Friday, February 15, 2013by  Jon Osterberg

Oregon drivers soon could pay up to $2,000 if they’re caught texting while driving.
   Both the state Senate and House are considering bills to toughen anti-texting laws. Despite the 2009 Oregon law that currently charges a $500 maximum fine, accidents involving cell phones have crept up. Senate President Peter Courtney, D-Salem, said the higher penalty will be very severe for violators “the one time you get caught.” Read The Oregonian article.

Share on social media

0

Comments on this post

No comments yet. Be the first to comment!

Add your comment





At PEMCO, we believe that maintaining the confidentiality of personal information is a fundamental responsibility. View our privacy policy.